Strings Theory for High School Students

• Thread starter String Dreadnaught
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Strings
In summary, the strings are fundamental 1+ dimensional *things* that are thought to be associated with the particles we see in the lab. They are interesting and not that hard to understand, but it would be helpful if someone could explain it in a way that a high school student could understand.
String Dreadnaught
I just recently started studying the string theory and I don't understand one major part. I can't find anything about what the strings exactly are. I think I have an idea from what I've read but I'm not sure. Now if anyone is considering answering this you have to know that I'm just a high school student so if you could explain it in a way I would understand that would really help. I can usually catch on pretty quick but still if you could explain it in a simple way it would really help.

Physics news on Phys.org
Not to discourage you from pursuing the subject, but its a little masochistic for a high school student to start studying string theory. Its jumping the gun a little bit =)

I was 3 grades ahead in high school, and had been doing math and physics competitively since I was a kid. However, even upon graduation I was many years shy of being able to even begin to talk about the subject in any way that would make sense.

For the best layman description, I suggest picking up Brian Greene's book the elegant universe, he talks about strings a little there.

Basically they are fundamental 1+ dimensional *things* who's vibrations are thought to be identified with the usual fundamental particles we see in the lab (neutrinos, electrons, quarks, etc)