1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I'm sure your're sick of me by now, but heres my question

1. Jan 17, 2006 #1
    i've included the text of the only one of the threads I accidentally created that contains my problem, the others were created by accident becuase my browser returned a database error, I had no idea they were actually posting (and blank messages to boot!)

sorry for the repeats guys, my comptuers on the blink, is there a way to delete multiple posts? the other posts dont contain my question, so here goes:

hi guys, this is my first time posting but here goes:

I'm trying to understand the concept of inclined planes for my AP physics midterm exam, and for some reason its not clicking anymore, my teacher is, unfortuantely, less than useless (i went to ask him about it today after school and he told me that you solve the problems a certain way, becuase thats how "smart people" determined you do it)

I'm looking at a basic picture of an inclined page in my textbook, with an angle theta of 30 degrees, i've drawn a picture of this plane in my notebook and done as the book says: I aligned my coordinate system to the top of the plane, mg (Fg) is pointing down at an angle in relation to the coordinate system, but is vertical otherwise. now my textbook and teacher tell me that the X component of gravity (Fgx) i simply use mg * sin (theta) and to find the Y component (Fgy) i use mg* cos (theta), but i dont understand this, sin (theta) should give me something like mg / (whatever the hypotenuse of the traingle is)

I think its apparent that i'm bloody useless at this , so i'd appriciate any help! if it includes a primer on trig even better! but please someone explain to me why you solve inclined plane problems this way!