Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Integer Power Sum for p = 0, 1, 2,

1. Feb 16, 2009 #1
    The other day I was thinking about the integer power sum and the general solution for each value of p. I came up with a method that will allow me to calculate the general solution. I thought that I may have stumbled upon something novel, because I couldn't find any reference to this method anywhere. I was hoping that someone could direct me to some published material that describes this method and sheds some light about the history of this method.

NOTE: I'm a wannabe mathematician that is currently employed as an engineer. Please excuse me if this is too elementary.

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 25, 2009 #2
    I'd appreciate any feedback that I can get. I can't find this method documented anywhere.

4. Feb 26, 2009 #3

lurflurf

Homework Helper

Trivial
    involves Bernoulli numbers
    Consult for instance any book on calculus or discrete math.
    This can be done many ways
    -undetermined coefficients
    prove the sum of a polynomial is a polynomial
    do specific cases by solving linear equations
    -repeated summation
    write
    x^(n+1)=x^n+...+x^n (x times)
    intercge sums
    -use generating functions
    -use the homogeneous operator
    [xD](x^k)=k*x^k
    {[xD]^l}(x^k)=(k^l)*x^k
    -use the equivelence of summation and antidifferencing

5. Feb 26, 2009 #4

lurflurf

Homework Helper

6. Feb 26, 2009 #5
    I've seen Faulhaber's formula. I've read the mathworld methods at least 3 times. I'm looking for more info my specific method. I've pulled out my calculus and discrete math books, but I've seen nothing that uses my method to find the solution to the power series.

Have you seen the method that I posted? If so, please direct me to some reading about who first used it and maybe how that person arrived upon this method.

Thanks,

Ken