Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Interacting Spins , Heisenberg Hamiltonian , Tensor product

1. Jun 29, 2010 #1
    Hello,
    I'm studying the Heisenberg Model. Given the Hamiltonian

[tex]H = - 2 \frac{J}{\hbar^2} \vec{S}_1 \vec{S}_2[/tex]

with

[tex] \begin{equation} \vec{S} = \frac{\hbar}{2} \; \left( \begin{array}{ccc} \sigma_x \\ \sigma_y \\ \sigma_z \end{array} \right) \end{equation} [/tex]

[tex] \sigma_{x,y,z} \quad {\text are \; the \; Pauli \; Matrices} [/tex]

Supposed, there are two electrons interacting antiferromagnetically.
    So I have a spin-spin interaction. The first is up and the second spin is down.

The texts says that this results in the following Hamiltonian:

[tex] \begin{equation} H = - J \; \left(\begin{array}{cccc}
    0,5 & 0 & 0 & 0 \\
    0 & -0,5 & -1 & 0 \\
    0 & -1 & -0,5 & 0 \\
    0 & 0 & 0 & 0,5 \end{array} \right) \end{equation} [/tex]

I know it has something to do with the tensor product of both spin vector operators.
    I tried to calculate by myself, but didn't get the correct result.

Could anyone explain, how this works?!

Thanks.

Regards,
    Phileas

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 30, 2010 #2
    You haven't made it very clear what goes wrong when you try to derive this.

You need to expand the dot product first (in your orginal hamiltonian you haven't included a dot product):
    [tex]
    H = J(\sigma_x\otimes\sigma_x + \sigma_y\otimes\sigma_y + \sigma_z\otimes\sigma_z)
    [/tex]
    If you have Matlab, the kron function does the direct products exactly as required.
    Did you get that far?

Perhaps the issue is appreciating that [tex]S_1^x[/tex] (a 4x4 matrix) is not the same as [tex]\sigma_x[/tex] (a 2x2 matrix) ?

Maybe question 3 of 'Some questions on spin' and solutions here might help:
    http://www-thphys.physics.ox.ac.uk/people/PeterConlon/teaching.shtml