1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Internal energy of a decaying atom (simple energy problem)

1. Feb 2, 2016 #1
    This is my first time here. Sorry if the formatting is a bit off. This is one of a few questions I am having difficulty with. I am not asking for any answers; and I have definitely done the work - multiple times - but have not been able to find the correct answer.

Q) A uranium-238 atom can break up into a thorium-234 atom and a particle called an alpha particle, α -4. The numbers indicate the inertias of the atoms and the alpha particle in atomic mass units (1 amu = 1.66 × 10−27 kg ). When an uranium atom initially at rest breaks up, the thorium atom is observed to recoil with an x component of velocity of -2.9 × 105 m/s.

- How much of the uranium atom's internal energy is released in the breakup? (Express your answer to three significant digits and include the appropriate units.)

Relevant Equations: k = 1/2mv2

- I found the velocity of the object to be -2.9 x 105 m/s (given)
    - I found the mass of the thorium atom to be 234 * 1.66 x 10-27 kg = 388.44 x 10-27 kg
    - I found v2 to be (-2.9 x 105 m/s)2 = 8.41 x 1010 m2/s2
    - Multiply: 1/2 * 388.44 x 10-27 kg * 8.41 x 1010 m2/s2 = 1633.3902 x 10-17 joules
    - Reduce this to three significant digits: 163 x 10-16 joules

Where did I go wrong? The program says that answer is not correct, but I went over it several times and can't find my mistake. Any help is appreciated. Please do not give me the answer. I doubt anyone here would, but that would violate my conscience (among other things!)

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 2, 2016 #2

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper