Internal energy of a decaying atom (simple energy problem)

In summary: When you hit the Create Thread button in the HW forums, the HW template with items 1., 2., and 3. appears in the editing box. Don't delete this template. Fill it out with your HW question, any relevant formulas or equations, and your attempts at solutions.
mnphys
This is my first time here. Sorry if the formatting is a bit off. This is one of a few questions I am having difficulty with. I am not asking for any answers; and I have definitely done the work - multiple times - but have not been able to find the correct answer.

Q) A uranium-238 atom can break up into a thorium-234 atom and a particle called an alpha particle, α -4. The numbers indicate the inertias of the atoms and the alpha particle in atomic mass units (1 amu = 1.66 × 10−27 kg ). When an uranium atom initially at rest breaks up, the thorium atom is observed to recoil with an x component of velocity of -2.9 × 105 m/s.

- How much of the uranium atom's internal energy is released in the breakup? (Express your answer to three significant digits and include the appropriate units.)

Relevant Equations: k = 1/2mv2

- I found the velocity of the object to be -2.9 x 105 m/s (given)
- I found the mass of the thorium atom to be 234 * 1.66 x 10-27 kg = 388.44 x 10-27 kg
- I found v2 to be (-2.9 x 105 m/s)2 = 8.41 x 1010 m2/s2
- Multiply: 1/2 * 388.44 x 10-27 kg * 8.41 x 1010 m2/s2 = 1633.3902 x 10-17 joules
- Reduce this to three significant digits: 163 x 10-16 joules

Where did I go wrong? The program says that answer is not correct, but I went over it several times and can't find my mistake. Any help is appreciated. Please do not give me the answer. I doubt anyone here would, but that would violate my conscience (among other things!)

Physics news on Phys.org
mnphys said: