B.S. in Physics: Is it Worth It?

In summary, it depends on what you want to do with your degree, and what you feel you can do to make it worth the debt. For most people, a physics degree is worth it.
Kal-El
Is a B.S. in Physics really worth it.(I have searched and read other threads on here)

Well its almost time to declare my major at my school. I am a sophomore at Penn State. I am currently on the path for Aerospace engineering and or Mechanical engineering but I feel like engineering isn't for me. I can't explain it, I guess I am more of a why person rather than how. I love physics. Anyway, I have heard that a B.S. in Physics is worthless. I have been searching this site for advice on this.. On if the degree is worth the debt I will be in when I get out of college (I have private loans and government loans) or if I should go with the engineering route. From what I have read a physics degree can get other jobs but most of what I read on this forum regards engineering and because I want to be able to pay back these loans I have after school, the engineering route seems like a better option. So my questions are:

If I got a physics degree with some engineering or other minors would that be the same or better as the single engineering degree?

What if I decide not to got to grad school for physics?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org

If you want to be an engineer, do an engineering degree. Your question is virtually no different than any of the other dozen threads posted in the past few weeks about the benefits of a physics degree vs those of an engineering degree.