Is a Career in Science the Right Path for Me?

• Thread starter jonfray
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Science
In summary, the person speaking is a older student, currently pursuing an education in Political Science but considering a career in Physics or Engineering due to a newfound interest and ability in mathematics. They are seeking advice on how to explore this potential career path further, such as taking an introductory physics class or interning with real physicists.
jonfray
Hello good people, new fish here.

A little context for you:
I am a bit of an older student, I am still working on my Associate thanks to my military career slowing down my education with training and overseas duty.

I am currently on tract to get my education in Political Science, specifically Governing and International Politics. I was a poor student in high school and didn't take math seriously, so I am now paying the price by having to rebuild my mathematics foundation.

The funny thing is, I am finding I am actually pretty good at it. Since math was always my barrier to getting a career in science, I am reevaluating myself and what I want to do with my life.

I have always had a love of science and technology, and lately have been considering maybe pursuing a career in Physics or Engineering. Astronomy and Astrophysics are by far my favorites in the P field, in Engineering I am a fan of biomechatronics and development.

I wanted to come here and ask some people with experience if this might be right for me or if this is just an interest of mine that I am taking too seriously. I am more than able to continue the career path I am on, but I want to be absolutely sure I am making the right choice.

What is it I should do to see if this really is something I can do for a career?
-edit-
Is there any literature I should read? Should I interview or try interning for real Physicists?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org