1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Is a master's degree harmful for a us student applying for phd programs?

1. Oct 20, 2012 #1
    I am currently a us student in undergraduate math and physics, doing well in courses, having taken graduate courses in both areas, and have finished degree requirements for both math and physics during my second year in undergrad, but I stayed for one more year anyway.

So, now, its my third year, and I think that many people still take 4 years in undergrad even if they can graduate in three. So, if I have to compete against these guys, I was thinking that I could take some more course work and do more research for an "extra" 4th year.

But on the other hand, I already started working on a senior honors thesis, and have already taken the gre exams. I found out that if I do stay at my undergrad institution for another year, I will have taken the equivalent of a master's degree, and working on a master's thesis during a 4th year would give me some more research experience, and would be a LOT cheaper than undergrad, since my institution TA coordinator said that I would have a TA position if I did MS degree.

So, basically my question is: Is it reasonable to estimate whether doing a master's degree as a way to supplement undergrad research experiences and coursework would be considered bad or harmful by admissions committees when I apply for a PHD degree? ( I have every intention to complete a PHD degree ultimately)

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 21, 2012 #2