1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Relativity Is Gravitation by MTW Out of Print?

1. Mar 25, 2016 #1
    Hi everyone,

When I graduated college about 4 years ago I had to, regrettably, sell off many of my math/physics books to pay back my student loans. One of my favorites was Gravitation. For the past few months I have been looking to buy it again, but it looks like all of the major sellers (Amazon, BN, Half.com/Ebay etc.) are out of stock. Even worse, second hand copies are running for close to $300 US!

Does anyone know if there are going to be reprints soon? Even the books' publisher W. H. Freeman doesn't have a website for it anymore.

Thanks!

Chris

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 25, 2016 #2

TeethWhitener

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  4. Mar 25, 2016 #3
    Ah, it's been a few days since I checked, but it does at least look like there are now copies for around $200. Still very expensive, though!

5. Mar 25, 2016 #4

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

The new copies are all from third-party sellers, not from Amazon itself. They're probably "old stock." If the book were "in print" and available from the publisher, surely Amazon would sell it directly, possibly with a notice "out of stock, more copies coming soon" or something like that.

6. Apr 1, 2016 #5
    I emailed Macmillan, and customersupport@macmillanusa.com replied to me with: "The text Gravitation is no longer being printed . Please let me know if you have any questions."

7. Apr 1, 2016 #6

TSny

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

It would be nice if they reprinted it in several volumes. My back can't take it any more.

8. Apr 1, 2016 #7
    Interesting, would be nice if Dover picked this up for reprinting!

9. Apr 2, 2016 #8

vanhees71

Science Advisor
    2016 Award