Is Introduction to Theory of Numbers by Hardy good ?

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of number theory and book recommendations for undergraduate students with a light knowledge of calculus and algebra. The original poster mentions their interest in learning mathematics beyond what is taught in school, specifically number theory, and asks for advice on whether they should continue with Hardy's book or look for a more suitable one. Several references are suggested, including "Elementary Number Theory" by D. Burton, "Elementary Number Theory with Applications" by T. Koshy, "Elementary Methods in Number Theory" by M. Nathanson, and "Introduction to Analytic Number Theory" by T. Apostol. It is advised to have a strong background in calculus and proof techniques before attempting to read Hardy's book, and
Ling Min Hao
I am currently an undergraduate students at university and i am keen on learning some mathematics that is not taught in school and i have chosen number theory as my main topic . Recently I have picked number theory by Hardy but I found it is quite hard to understand sometimes as I have quite a lot of symbols and notation that I don't understand like (big O , little o , f=O(phi) means that mod(f) < A(phi) ) . Should I continue on learning this book or any other book recommendations which is more suitable for undergraduates with light knowledge on calculus and algebra?

Physics news on Phys.org
Here's some discussion on it:

http://math.stackexchange.com/questions/329/best-book-ever-on-number-theory

and they recommend:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/038797329X/?tag=pfamazon01-20 by Ireland and Rosen

although this is a graduate level text.

Another one I found was this one by Prof of Mathematics William Stein of the Univ of Washington:

http://wstein.org/ent/

while I can't vouch for these references personally the Stein book is freely downloadable and could get you started on your topic.