Is it always easy to pick up a new major

• Programs
  • Thread starter Nano-Passion
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Major
In summary: I am studying biological engineering and working in a neurobiology lab on computational models based on the biophysics of neurons. The cool thing about experimental sciences is that they are very interdisciplinary and offer many more options than just theoretical physics. While theoretical physics may be slow moving and narrow, with fields like biophysics, the "cool stuff" is right there in front of you. Optics is also a field that interests me.Before committing to theoretical physics, it may be helpful to try self studying a class from a book over the summer. This can provide insight into the motivation and strong will needed for theoretical research. However, it is important to remember that research is much more challenging as there is no book or solution manual to refer to.
Nano-Passion
You can skip to the third paragraph if you would like. So I'll be attending Rutgers University in the fall, and I have to say I am extremely excited. I will major in physics and minor in math or perhaps double major in math.

Here is the thing-- I love too many things in science. I'm aiming to earn a research spot in physics in theory, my internship this summer is in the experimental side and I'm not completely fond of it, plus I like the math portion of things. I get the feeling that I'm also aiming to do theory in physics because it is incredibly competitive and I'm a stubborn mule that likes competition and wants to prove it to myself despite the odds.