Is There a Fine Line Between Being Smart and Being a Dork in High School?

• Thread starter ShiningLegend
  • Start date
In summary, the student thinks that being "smart" is often scorned, and that it is an awkward moment when someone asserts their knowledge for the rest of the audience. Being "smart" is knowing that you don't know half as much as you think you do, while being a dork is getting axcited about that. Just remember, not everything in class is a competition to look the smartest. There are times when you may know something that no one else knows and it would be interesting and useful for the teacher and classmates to learn about it.
ShiningLegend
:P So, I'm a Sophomore in High School and I take a chemistry class every Thursday night. I really enjoy the class, and I'm performing very well. I've been answering questions, contributing with even more concepts like quantum mechanics (exaggeration, slightly), and asking my teacher fairly complicated questions after class. In other words, I'm the classroom nerd.
Recently, I contributed to the conversation by adding that "precision was basically a form of inductive reasoning" because I'm also taking geometry which uses a lot of logic. My best friend laughed out loud (LOL!) and everyone snickered or gave me a look. Oh, and the emo kid just kept on hating Earth (don't really care about his opinion). My "crush" apparently didn't notice (she's probably one of the smartest in the class). I was kind of like "Who wouldn't want to know that"?

Well, I'm by no means ashamed of science or ashamed that I know my photons from my electrons but I was wondering: what's the fine line between being a dork and being "smart". For all you fellow nerds out there, do you know the awkward moment when you look dumb for acting smart?

Physics news on Phys.org
Being smart is knowing that you don't know half as much as you think you do. Being a dork is getting axcited about that.

daveb said: