John Baez's Crackpot Index: Unpacking String Theory?

In summary, the conversation revolves around the possibility of point number 37 hinting at string theory, and the suggestion to move the conversation to the Beyond the Standard Model forum. The original poster also mentions their lack of expertise in the topic and suggests asking Dr. Baez for further clarification. They also express concern about potential backlash and the suggestion to drop the topic if it does not have any valuable discussion points.
Leopold Infeld
http://math.ucr.edu/home/baez/crackpot.html

Doesnt point number 37 hint at string theory by what the likes of smolin and woit says?

And btw, I am no expert in this and I announce that all i have read is a few "layman" books and have no heck of idea what string theory actually is and my voice is utterly insignificant..

Physics news on Phys.org
Why don't you ask Dr. Baez himself? He posts here in the Beyond the Standard Model forum.

Perhaps this thread could be moved there?

I posted here in case people took it seriously and started flaming all over again and I don't want to be the initiator of it lol. Ok, since Gokul agrees, this should be moved then.. how do i move it btw?

I'm not moving it, but one of the men in green has to do so. 'Tis beyond your ken.

nah, i am going to go there and post myself already..

Leopold Infeld said:
nah, i am going to go there and post myself already..
I wouldn't advise it. The index is meant as a joke. Unless you have anything of any actual value to discuss, drop it.

What is John Baez's Crackpot Index?

John Baez's Crackpot Index is a tool used to evaluate the credibility and validity of scientific theories or claims. It was created by mathematician John Baez to help identify characteristics commonly found in pseudoscientific ideas.

What is String Theory?