Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Laws clearly state matter couldn`t be destroyed

1. Aug 6, 2006 #1
    I know laws clearly state matter couldn`t be destroyed but I believe if you got a big enough explosion with enough heat then it could happen. I just wanna know if it could happen and if it couldn`t, is there a way to turn matter into complete energy(no other matter produced or anything whatsoever)? Im a newb and dont know a whole lot so go easy on me please.
    thanks and excuse my stupid question but please answer it

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 6, 2006 #2
    Laws also state that matter cannot be created. Why do you believe a big enough explosion will destroy matter? More specifically, what is big enough?

4. Aug 6, 2006 #3
    The law you're referring to states energy cannot be created or destroyed, it can only transfer forms. And since matter is essentially energy (right?), it holds for matter.

5. Aug 7, 2006 #4

LURCH

Science Advisor

Right. The matter can be "destroyed" in the sense that it ceases to exist as matter. It becomes EM and/or some other form(s) of energy.

6. Aug 7, 2006 #5
    LURCH, thats basically what I was asking. So no matter whatsoever is produced or still there or anything right?

7. Aug 7, 2006 #6
    Right... take for instance the decay of the neutral pion. Its primary decay mode is into two photons (approx. 98%). See the PDG listing.

This doesn't take massive amounts of energy to happen- just the amount of energy it takes to create the pion.

8. Aug 7, 2006 #7

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

Chemical explosions release the chemical energy stored in the bonds of molecules, and the energy is manifest in the gaseous products. For a given mass, the gas occupies a much greater volume than the solid or liquid phase.