Length contraction/time dilation mutually exclusive?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concepts of length contraction and time dilation in relation to objects moving at high speeds. It is noted that these two effects are always present together and cannot be considered mutually exclusive. The proportion of these effects is such that the speed of light remains constant. The discussion also touches on the idea of "proper distance" and how it is dependent on the frame of reference. It is important to consider the readings of clocks in different frames when discussing these effects.
jollyjolly0
Hello Physics Forums!

I'll try to cut right to the chase. I'm studying both length contraction and time dilation in my physics class and it seems these two occurrences are mutually exclusive. That is, in any given situation, only time will be dilated or length will be contracted. This doesn't really make sense to me though. For one, "how do it know?" whether to contract or dilate length or time respectively? Is it true that its one or the other, but never both?

Physics news on Phys.org
jollyjolly0 said:
Is it true that its one or the other, but never both?

No. It's the opposite: they are always present together. That is, if an object is length contracted relative to you (because it is moving relative to you), it is also time dilated relative to you.

Also, keep in mind that the length contraction is only along the direction of motion so if you are considering a light clock with the light bouncing back and forth along the direction of travel between two mirrors, those mirrors will be closer together than in their rest frame but if the light clock was rotated 90 degrees, then the mirrors are the same distance apart no matter what the speed is. (But, the mirrors will be length contracted.)