Light ray paths near schwarzschild blackhole

1. hey there, i'm interested in (eventually) simulating light ray paths near black holes, starting with schwarzschild blackholes and working my way to kerr-newman blackholes.
    I have a good understanding of the nature of blackholes but have trouble when it comes to the equations.
    My background is in computer science and I was wondering if anyone here could put a non-physicist on the right track to plotting the trajectory of a light ray near a black hole. ( in 2d for now ).
    Thanks

Last edited: Oct 23, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Anyone have any advice?
    I'm currently going over lagrangian mechanics

4. You might start with this paper.

5. Thanks for the paper, all the others I have read from arxiv have not been very non-physicist friendly.

6. George Jones

George Jones 6,358
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Are you interested in what an observer would see with his eyes, or in plotting the trajectory of a photon on a coordinate map, or maybe both? The first thing is somewhat hard, and the second thing is easier.

Let me use an example to illustrate what I mean. Suppose a ship makes a long ocean voyage. The voyage could be watched from a telescope on a satellite in geosynchronous orbit, or the voyage could be plotted as a moving, glowing dot on a map.

7. My end goal will be to render what an observer would see , but for now I would like to simply plot the trajectory of several photons on a coordinate map.

I've been studying geodesics (not with much luck) and reading up on equations for the impact parameter and deflection angle in the schwarzschild metric which I have as :
    [tex]\Delta\phi = \int^{r_{observed}}_{r_{omitted}} \stackrel{dr}{r\sqrt{r^{2}/b^{2} - 1 + R_{s}/r}} [/tex]

Last edited: Oct 25, 2009
  8. A.T.

A.T. 5,302
    Gold Member

9. Last edited: Oct 25, 2009
  10. George Jones

George Jones 6,358
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member