1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Live on campus or rent an apartment?

1. May 5, 2007 #1
    My cousin got to an ok university as a transfer student, and will be going to as a third year junior. He's over 21 so doesn't have to live on campus, so the question is which choice is better to stay on campus or be more independent and live in an apartment.

Price wise it's about the same, for campus you get a small room and a roomate, for a couple hundred bucks more you get a nice apartment all to yourself.

2. jcsd
  3. May 5, 2007 #2
    it depends what he's looking for, if he's already a thrid year junior most everyone is going to already have friends and he'll have to just try harder to make and meet people.

I live off campus and love it, but when I was a freshman it was nice to room with someone because it was easy to make new friends that way.

4. May 5, 2007 #3

Chris Hillman

Science Advisor

Under 21's can't live off campus?

Hi, waht,

I'm curious about something you said:

Do I understand you to say the this uni requires students under 21 to live in a dorm? I've never heard of any requirement like that before (except at military academies). Is this university in the U.S. or somewhere else?

5. May 5, 2007 #4
    I lived on campus my freshman year and right now I live off campus. I'd rather live on campus. Living off campus here is about half the price of living on campus.

6. May 5, 2007 #5