Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Local flat space and the Riemann tensor

1. Aug 22, 2012 #1
    Can somebody explain in layman's terms the connection between local flat space (tangent planes) on a manifold and the Riemann tensor.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 22, 2012 #2

bcrowell

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I don't think laymen know the terms you're using. What is your background? E.g., are you a university sophomore majoring in physics, ...?

4. Aug 23, 2012 #3
    No, just a person with an interest in this area. I studied solid state physics (QM) in college many years ago and like to keep my mind active by thinking about this stuff.

My understanding is that if I pick a point on a manifold that in the limit can be considered as being flat, I can use cartesian coordinates. If I uses cartesion coordinates the derivative of the metric tensor is 0 and covariant derivative become the ordinary derivative. So doesn't this imply that the Riemann tensor is not defined at that point? What am I not understanding?

5. Aug 23, 2012 #4

bcrowell

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

If you want to visualize the tangent plane, you can visualize it as what it says: a plane that is tangent to the manifold. That means you can't visualize it as a small region of the manifold itself. The tangent plane isn't curved, it's flat, so you can't measure curvature within it.

To talk about curvature, you need more than a point, you need a neighborhood around the point. This is the same as in freshman calculus. If I tell you that the function f passes through the origin, that doesn't help you to calculate its curvature (second derivative) at the origin.