Looking for Advice on MS v Ph.D. and Letters of Rec

• Thread starter bueller11
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ph.d Ph.d.
In summary, the individual graduated with a BS in Engineering Physics 7 years ago but was unable to pursue a graduate degree at that time. They have been working in computer software but wish to switch to a career in physics, specifically research in gravity and general theory of relativity. Their questions are whether to go straight to a PhD program or get a masters first, and what recommendations should be made for letters of recommendation. They are considering getting a masters first to improve their chances of getting into a better PhD program and are unsure about the type of recommendations needed. They have some academic research experience, but it was a while ago. They are also looking for recommendations for a decent MS program in Southern California.
bueller11
I graduated with a BS in Engineering Physics 7 years ago, and at that time I wasn't able to go to grad school. Since then I've been doing computer software and frankly hate it, and really wish I could have finished my education then. Anyhow, I would like to go pursue the advanced degree in physics so I can finally make that my career. My goal is to do research in gravity a la gravity waves and the general theory of relativity, but perhaps the computational route since therein lies my experience. So, my questions are

1) Would it be recommended to go to a masters program or straight to a ph.d. program? and
2) What recommendations can be made concerning letters of recommendations?

Question 1 arises more from insecurity, I'm wondering if it's advisable to get the masters first because my overall GPA was shotty and my major GPA was only 3.00. I haven't taken the Physics GRE yet, but I'm not sure I'd score very high seeing as I haven't been doing physics over the past 7 years.