Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Looking for some help with constructing a double slit experiment

1. May 13, 2014 #1
    Hello, fellow physics lovers. I am an amateur physicist and am currently teaching some fellow keen amateurs about the marvels of the quantum world. After explaining the dual nature of light and conducting a very basic example of Young's double slit experiment using a laser and a sheet of card, the group, rather excitedly, decided it would be worth putting in a bit of effort to try and construct an apparatus capable of demonstrating real quantum interference and wave function collapse. Although at the time I was overjoyed by their enthusiasm I feel I have bitten off more than i can chew. Does anyone know if its possible to obtain the required materials, i.e. single photon/electron sources, barium crystals/any other usable beam spliters, mirrored glass, detector screens etc.? I know Its asking a lot but any info is greatly appreciated. :)

2. jcsd
  3. May 14, 2014 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Welcome to PF;
    You can obtain this sort of equipment from scinetific equipment suppliers ... however, some of the experiments you are likely to want to try will be very expensive. You should try to narrow down you requirements to the properties you want to demonstrate.

4. May 14, 2014 #3
    Thanks so much for your reply Simon. And thank you for the welcome. I guess what Im really wondering is whether or not its possible to construct a home apparatus capable of displaying a single particle interference pattern (apologies for any bad terminology). Is this something people would do out of interest or is it the kind of experiment thats restricted to labs with rather large budgets??

Last edited: May 14, 2014
  5. May 14, 2014 #4

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper