Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mass on a string.lagrange mechanics

1. Aug 31, 2008 #1
    hi there i am studying lagrange and hamiltonian mechanics.
    i came about this question from a previous test session please if anyone can help.

the question is about a mass rotating on a rectilinear string attached without friction from a point A on the z axis.
    the length of the string is h = OA (O being the origin of the 3D system)

the mass is free to move on the string as a pearl on a necklace for example.

the rotational vel. "w" is given constant which makes the angle ф on the xy plane = wt
    this means that ф is not a degree of freedom

i do not undersand however why the angle α between the string and the z axis is not.
    in the solution r the position vector from A to the mass M is the only degree of freedom.

i think the answer would be simple and that if i scratched my head a bit i would know but i am still trying to figure it out in the mean time i tried asking here so..
    if anybody can help me out it would be great thanks.
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 31, 2008 #2
    So, the string is rotating at angular velocity w and you have a mass M on the string that can freely move along the string?

Then you can just write down the Lagrangian which only consists of a kinetic energy term:

L = 1/2 M [r-dot^2 + r^2 w^2]

Then write down the Euler-Lagrange equatons:

d/dt dL/dr-dot - dL/dr = 0

But it is easier to construct the Hamiltonian and then use that it is conserved. The canonical momentum corresponding to r is:

pr = dL/dr-dot = M r-dot (no surprise here)

The Hamiltonian is by definition:

H = pr r-dot - L = 1/2 M r-dot^2 - 1/2 M r^2 w^2