Math in Moscow or Budapest Semesters in Mathematics?

• Thread starter Sleepy 104
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mathematics
In summary, the speaker is having a difficult time deciding between two graduate programs in physics and mathematics. They have received advice from their professors and former students, but are still struggling to choose. They provide a list of courses they would like to take at each program and mention their background and interests in graduate school. They also list their previous math classes and the ones they are currently taking. They ask for any suggestions or advice on which program to choose.
Sleepy 104
Hello all,

I'm a physics and math undergrad and I'm having a very difficult time deciding between these two programs. Fortunately I was accepted into both, so it's a good problem, but having to decide between the two is starting to wear on me; I really love both programs. I've gotten great advice from my math professors and from former students, but alas I'm still flip flopping every hour. ANY insight or advice would be appreciated!

Here's what I would like to take if I went there.

Budapest: Combinatorics 1, Introduction to Topology, Functional Analysis, Differential Geometry, and Advanced Algebra.

Moscow: Topology I, Differential Geometry, Knot Theory, Representation Theory, Russian I.

Just so that you have an idea of my background and thoughts here's a quick bio.

I know I want to go to graduate school but I don't know if I want to do theoretical physics or mathematics. As of right now I think I'll be doing (or at least attempting haha) theoretical physics because I love the prospect of studying QFTs and quantum gravity. But that might change after this experience. Plus, correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't there topological QFTs of higher dimensions? So I guess I could study and research both theoretical physics and mathematics?