Math vs. Physics: Choosing the Right Path for Graduate Studies

• Courses
  • Thread starter Pallatinus
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary: But in the end it won't matter much, as you will learn a lot of physics by doing math, and math by doing physics, so it all comes down to what you find interesting, and perhaps what you want to specialize in. In summary, if you want to study Mathematical Physics in grad school, you will need to take a combination of both math and physics courses. Some of the most important courses include Algebra, Real Analysis, Electromagnetism, State of Matter, and Quantum Mechanics. Ultimately, the most important courses will depend on your interests and goals, so it is important to choose a combination that complements your desired path.
Pallatinus
I'm currently a math undergrad, and I find that I love both, Math and Physics, and I want to study Mathematical Physics in grad school, but now I've to decide which path should I follow, next year I could change my degree to physics (my UNI physics department is much better structured and renowned than the math department), then take a lot of math courses, or I should stay in math and take physics courses.
1. If I choose the first option which math courses should I take?
2. If I choose the second one, which physics courses are "more important"?
What courses are more important to "complement" each option? (1 and 2)

A list of the most important courses available.
Math:
Algebra 1 & 2
Real Analysis
Analysis in R^n
Topology
ODE
PDE
Fourier Analysis
Functional Analysis

Physics:
Electromagnetism 1 & 2
State of Matter 1 & 2
Classical Mechanics 1 & 2
Thermodynamics
Solid-State Physics 1 & 2
Optics
Computational Physics
General Relativity
Statistical Mechanics
Quantum Mechanics 1 & 2

Physics news on Phys.org
Pallatinus said:
Math:
Algebra 1 & 2
Real Analysis
Analysis in R^n
Topology
ODE
PDE
Fourier Analysis
Functional Analysis