Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

MATLAB Simulation of Fraunhofer Diffraction

1. Jun 28, 2014 #1
    Hello, I am using MATLAB to simulate a Fraunhofer diffraction pattern for a given aperture, but I have a little question. Hope someone can help.

Sorry I am just a high school student and does not completely understand all mathematic deductions about Fraunhofer Diffraction on Wikipedia. I simply learn the way to generate the diffraction pattern: use a matrix of 0 and 1 to describe the aperture, take the Fast Fourier Transform of the matrix, "fftshift" it, display the transformed image to an image, and I get the diffraction.

I made programs for 1-dimensional and 2-dimensional apertures, and the diffraction looks well. But it seems that the diffraction pattern simulated in this way is independent of the frequency (or wavelength) of the incident light. i.e., as long as I get an aperture, I get an only diffraction pattern regardless of the wavelength of the light, because there are no light properties described in my program. In reality that is not the case: for example the wavelength of light determines the distance between two fringes in the double-slit diffraction; for the same double-slit, the shorter the wavelength, the finer the fringes of diffraction pattern.

Well, how can I put wavelength into consideration when I simulate the diffraction?

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 29, 2014 #2

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

The wave length is related to the size of the aperture. For shorter wave lengths, you need a smaller aperture to produce the same result. Thus, since this is numerical, the unit length of your program is likely to be one wavelength of the light (or similar, I have not seen your program). The wavelength is then by definition 1. You could simulate other wavelengths by scaling the aperture.