Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Matrix Chain Multiplication: Optimal way of multiplying

1. Feb 26, 2017 #1
    Hi,

I am studying Matrix chain Multiplication to find out the optimal way of multiplying a series of matrices so that we can reduce the number of multiplications. I have got this example from the book which multiplies the matrices having dimensions given below:

A1 30 * 35

A2 32 * 15

A3 15 * 5

A4 5 * 10

A5 10 * 20

A6 20 * 25

From these matrices, it creates the 2 tables:

M TABLE.jpg

s table.jpg
    The algorithm is given below:

MTM(A, s, I, j)

If j> i

Then Xß MCM(A, s, I, s[I,j])

Y ß MCM(A, s, s[I,j] + 1, j)

return MCM (X, Y)

else return Ai

They are invoking the algorithm by:

MCM(A, s, 1, 6)

Can some body guide me what is the value of A & s?
    After that i want to find out the best way of ordering these matrices for multiplication. Some body please guide me.
    Zulfi.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 26, 2017 #2
    I guess the book should explain this?

If I'm reading the algorithm correctly, it multiplies t=A1*A2, t=t*A3, s=A5*A6, s=A4*s, t=t*s, return t. This seems to comply with the intuitive idea of picking the longest "edge" available:
    first 35 between A1 and A2,
    then 20 between A5 and A6,
    then 15 between (A1*A2) and A3,
    then 10 between A4 and (A5*A6),
    and last 5 between (A1*A2*A3) and (A4*A5*A6).
    The s-table is a way to drive the calculation, even though it seems a bit complicated. The m-table is probably used to fill in the s-table, and that should be explained in the book you're reading.

Just a side note, if you want to get anywhere in programming, you *absolutely can not* afford typing errors. I is not i, A is not m, 32 is not 35, and MCM is not MTM.

4. Mar 3, 2017 #3
    Hi,
    I am correcting my algorithm. I cant find edit option:
    1. MCM(A, s, i, j)
    2. if j> i