Matter cannot be created nor destroyed

• Thread starter dcderek24
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Matter
In summary, matter cannot be created nor destroyed, but it can be redistributed. Every time a baby is born, it is not a violation of the first law of thermodynamics as the baby's matter comes from the mother's diet during pregnancy. This process is a transformation of atomic compounds and does not involve the actual creation of matter. A balanced and healthy diet is crucial for the proper development of a baby.
dcderek24
if matter cannont be created nor destroyed? everytime a baby is born that's not matter being created.
now it may redistributed as someone said. if everything came from a single cell, wouldn't this violate the first law. isn't matter multiplying?
does this not apply with biological organisms?

NOTE: look guys I am not trying to prove the law wrong or anything I am just trying to understand. I am just learning about science. i was trapped in a church n hid from science my whole life. I am just trying to understand. don't take this question as me trying to disprove something

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Everything doesn't come from the single cell, per se.
That original cell takes in chemicals from the environment and uses those to "grow"

Biological organism eat. The food is converted into cells as needed.

Well, foistly, matter _can_ be created and destroyed. That's how the sun produces energy for us. The total amount of energy and matter seems to be constant thanks to Einstein.

But the kind of matter-creation you are asking about, birth and death and those sorts of things, is really aggregation rather than creation. They are "just" transformations of some kinds of atomic compounds into others. How the metabolic mechanism that implements this came about is an active area of research. However no actual atoms were destroyed in the course of generating this message -- well, assuming I'm running on fossil fuels and not nuclear power anyway...