Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Matter cannot be created nor destroyed

1. Oct 10, 2010 #1
    if matter cannont be created nor destroyed? everytime a baby is born thats not matter being created.
    now it may redistributed as someone said. if everything came from a single cell, wouldn't this violate the first law. isn't matter multiplying?
    does this not apply with biological organisms?

NOTE: look guys im not trying to prove the law wrong or anything im just trying to understand. im just learning about science. i was trapped in a church n hid from science my whole life. im just trying to understand. dont take this question as me trying to disprove something

Last edited: Oct 11, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 10, 2010 #2
    Everything doesn't come from the single cell, per se.
    That original cell takes in chemicals from the environment and uses those to "grow"

4. Oct 10, 2010 #3

mathman

Science Advisor

Biological organism eat. The food is converted into cells as needed.

5. Oct 10, 2010 #4
    Well, foistly, matter _can_ be created and destroyed. That's how the sun produces energy for us. The total amount of energy and matter seems to be constant thanks to Einstein.

But the kind of matter-creation you are asking about, birth and death and those sorts of things, is really aggregation rather than creation. They are "just" transformations of some kinds of atomic compounds into others. How the metabolic mechanism that implements this came about is an active area of research. However no actual atoms were destroyed in the course of generating this message -- well, assuming I'm running on fossil fuels and not nuclear power anyway....

6. Oct 10, 2010 #5

fluidistic

Gold Member

Right. As they told/meant to you, the baby's matter comes mostly from what his/her mother ate during the pregnancy. So it's a way to transform oranges into babies.