Maximum rated voltage/current value on lab power supply

In summary, the conversation discusses the different modes of operation of power supplies, such as constant voltage (CV) and constant current (CC) modes. The maximum rated values for voltage and current are also explained, and how they can be interpreted differently. The conversation also mentions the relationship between voltage, current, and power in a series pass transistor supply.
PainterGuy
Hi :smile:

While helping me with the queries please don't forget that I'm a beginner to this technical stuff (or, my knowledge of this area of knowledge is nothing more than beginner's! :) ).

I'm trying to understand how simple lab current source and voltage source works without getting into too much technical details of their operations.

This lab power supply (variable voltage/current source):
http://img810.imageshack.us/img810/4475/powersupplycurrent.jpg

can deliver maximum 30V and 3A. The funny thing is in the picture it is delivering 4.45A which is more than the maximum rated value for the current. But I think I'm interpreting the meaning of maximum rated value wrongly. I think by "30V/3A" it means when voltage is set at 30V then the maximum current you could get is 3A. In other words, the maximum power the power supply could deliver is: Power = 30V x 3A = 90W. So, if you are using the supply as a constant current source and the current being delivered is 10A, then the maximum voltage it could produce would be 9V.

Please correct me. Thank you. BTW, you may wonder why I don't confirm this by experimenting with the supply itself, well, I don't have access to that supply.

Cheers

Engineering news on Phys.org
Good question. I might not answer all parts in your post, but I'll get into the main modes of operation of power supplies:

1. CV - Constant Voltage mode - In this power supply you adjust the output voltage, and the current that will flow out is dependent on the load which also follows the ohm's law.