1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mechanical Engineering Senior Design Project Ideas

1. Oct 13, 2014 #1
    Hey guys, I am currently studying Mechanical Engineering in the UK. For my final year, we have to basically invent or design something that hasn't been invented before or improve something that's already been invented.Now unlike my cousin who's studying Aerospace Engineering in the US, he told me that for his senior project, he will be working with a group of 5 people, who specialize in different disciplines of engineering like electrical, industrial, mechanical etc. So basically I have to work alone on my final year project. I would say I have Intermediate knowledge on Auto Cad,Mechanics, Materials and Manufacturing. What do you guys suggest ? and the costs of whatever I work on is coming out of my pocket. I would greatly appreciate it if someone could give me an Idea that's possible within the limitations of the specialties I mentioned above.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 13, 2014 #2

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Does your program not provide the possibility of doing a team assignment? It can be valuable to work on a team (especialIy a multidisciplinary team) and you may achieve more through teamwork and brainstorming.

That being said if you must work alone, I would recommend choosing a project in a hobby area of yours. Try to choose something in an area of interest that has the possibility of design optimization.

4. Oct 21, 2014 #3
    Does the project require you make a working model? Got plenty of ideas to toss at you, but should be something in your area of interest. Estimated time you are expected to apply to project? When is it due? Budget limits?

5. Oct 22, 2014 #4