Mobius: Representations of SU(2,1)=U(1,1)

I'm studying the representations of SU(2,1) [or U(1,1)], and since they are non-compact, their representations are necessarily infinite dimensional.

I have a couple questions.

In the literature, they say the algebra satisfied by the three generators, [itex]T_1, T_2, T_3[/itex] is

[tex][T_1,\,T_2]=-i T_3[/tex]
[tex][T_2,\,T_3]=i T_1[/tex]
[tex][T_3,\,T_1]=i T_2[/tex]​

Is this correct?

And, secondly, given that the group is non-compact, I should expect the generators to be represented by infinite-dimensional matrices only. But, in the literature, I found the following:

[tex]T_1 = \frac{1}{2}\begin{pmatrix}0&1\\-1&0\end{pmatrix}\qquad T_2=\frac{1}{2}\begin{pmatrix}0&-i\\-i&0\end{pmatrix}\qquad
T_3=\frac{1}{2}\begin{pmatrix}1&0\\0&-1\end{pmatrix}[/tex]​

and these appear to satisfy the algebra above. So why aren't they infinite-dimensional? What's the deal?

So, su(2,1) can't be u(1,1). I would expect to be (2+1)^2 - 1 = 8-dimensional, and u(1,1) to be (1+1)^2 = 4-dimensional. The algebra you listed is 3d. It looks like it may very well be su(1,1) = so(2,1) = sl(2,R), I think. I expect one would get to u(1,1) by adding a central charge (a generator that commutes with everything), at which point the commutation relations wouldn't change. I did not verify that that algebra is consistent with the definition of su(1,1), but it certainly appears to be at first glance.