1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Most useful (spoken) language to learn for a Nuclear Engineer?

1. Sep 20, 2008 #1
    Hello,

I'm a Nuclear Engineering undergrad at Penn State. Right now I'm considering to learn a foreign language so I will be able to communicate to other countries which have a considerable amount of nuclear resources (personnel and infrastructure). I have a few questions in regards to learning a second language:

1) Which foreign language would be the most useful for an English speaking Nuclear Engineer to learn?

2) How typically would someone go about learning a second language through a university?

3) What type of curriculum could I expect?

Thank you.
    ~Phillip

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 20, 2008 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Korean (North) good job opportunities, not much of a pension - same applies to Iran.

French - probably going to be making most of the reactors in Europe in the next couple of decades. Very nice place to work, the problem is that however well you speak french, the french won't speak to you - this is nothing personal, the same applies to anyone from Paris.

Japanese - the other big maker of reactors. Tricky language, they don't even have proper letters, fortunately everyone speaks English!

Most universities have language classes, either for credit or just for interest. Science/engineerign deps often have technicla langauge course, German+Russian are most common, these focus on translating technical papers rather than asking the way to the station or discussing literature.

4. Sep 21, 2008 #3
    LMAO @ Korean and Farsi suggestion ;)

5. Sep 21, 2008 #4
    Chinese! China's economy is growing rapidly as well as it's energy need and from what I have heard reactor interest is sparking.