MS in Physics after Mechanical

In summary, the individual is in their final year of Mechanical Engineering and has written the GRE exam. They are interested in studying Physics, but are unsure if they can make the switch with an engineering background and what requirements they would need to meet. They are considering writing the Physics GRE exam or pursuing an internship in a related field. They are seeking advice and have been directed to a forum for further discussion.
dhananjay.unn
Hi!
I am currently in my final year doing Mechanical Engg from a Govt college.
I have written GRE and will start applying for universities in 3 week's time.
But, my interest in Mechanical engg is going down day by day. Since my 9th grade, I've always wanted to study Physics.

My question is: Is it possible for me to jump to pure Physics with an Engg background?
If I have to apply to foreign universities, what are the requirements I will need, to compensate for my lack of a basic degree in Physics?
Will writing PHYSICS GRE help me?
Or should I try for an internship in a Physics related field?

I am desperately looking forward to your replies.
Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Thank you very much. I will try posting this in that forum. Hope I will get a reply.

1. What is the difference between a MS in Physics and a MS in Mechanical Engineering?

A MS in Physics focuses on the fundamental principles of matter and energy, while a MS in Mechanical Engineering focuses on the design, development, and analysis of mechanical systems. While there may be some overlap in coursework, the two programs have different focuses and career paths.

2. Can I pursue a MS in Physics after completing my undergraduate degree in Mechanical Engineering?