1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

MSc in Quantum Fields and Fundamental Forces at Imperial College London

1. Jun 17, 2009 #1
    I'm an Electronic and communication Engineer, and I'm living in the Caribbean, and i want to study MSc in Quantum Fields and Fundamental Forces Imperial College London, since in its description seems very likely what I'm looking for, which is,...
    I'm looking a course that can place me in,... where A. Einstein and all quantum scientists stood,.. specific in the UNIFICATION problem...
    and the msc at imperial college seems right,... but i would like some help,... i need to know the cost,... if can one work at the same time to pay it ?,... or some experience from anyone that has taken it ,... i need all advice possible,... thanks,..

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 17, 2009 #2

dx

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I'm not sure how much physics electronic and communication engineers generally study, but you should make sure you have the prerequisites for the course. Have you studied Lagrangian & Hamiltonian mechanics, quantum mechanics and special relativity?

Last edited: Jun 17, 2009
  4. Jun 17, 2009 #3

cristo

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Non-EU fees are £17,750, apparently (http://www3.imperial.ac.uk/pgprospectus/whatcanyoustudy). I guess you could probably get a weekend job, but anything more than that and you would be risking your studies. This will also be limited by the amount of work your student visa allows.

However, dx's point is very valid. This course only accepts students with a first class (or equivalent) in physics. You will need to contact the admissions tutor to ask whether your degree is sufficient.

5. Jun 17, 2009 #4