1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Need help to know the prerequisites of these graduate-level courses

1. Sep 8, 2012 #1
    I'm an undergraduate student studying my 4th semester of pure mathematics and I already have passed two courses in analysis that covers chapters 1 to 8 of Rudin's mathematical analysis and I've taken a course in abstract algebra that covers basics of group theory (excluding Silow's theorem) and basics of ring and module theory (including Tensor product over modules and injective, projective and flat modules).
    I've talked to two of my university professors to join their classes and they've agreed. I got these choices to join:

1- Finite groups theory
    2- Functional algebra
    3- Manifold I
    4- Algebraic varieties and Riemannian manifolds
    5- Real Analysis I
    6- Banach algebra
    7- Operator theory

I'm thinking of joining two of these classes as a guest student but I'm a bit confused. I personally like algebra and geometry very much, but I don't know which one of these courses I could join. Your suggestions will be highly appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 9, 2012 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Could you perhaps tell more about these courses?? For example, what is the contents and what are the books they are using?? Then we'll be in a better position to advice you.

4. Sep 9, 2012 #3