Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Need help with combination of product and chain rule

1. Sep 13, 2006 #1
    I need help differentiating [tex] y=\sqrt{x-2}\sqrt{x+1} [/tex]

I am using a mix of the chain rule and product rule which my textbook for school wants me to use for this. So suggestions for differant ways of approaching it won't help :P Anyways, thanks in advance for looking over it. It's my first attempt at posting in latex so lets hope it works!

For my work I have:

(dy)/(dx)=[tex](x-2)^{1/2}\frac{d}{dx}(x+1)^{1/2}+(x+1)^{1/2}\frac{d}{dx}(x-2)^{1/2}[/tex]

=[tex](x-2)^{1/2}(\frac{1}{2})(x+1)^{-1/2}+(x+1)^{1/2}(\frac{1}{2})(x-2)^{-1/2}[/tex]

And that is exactly what they have in my textbook, so thats good. But...

For the third part my textbook has

=[tex](\frac{1}{2})(x+1)^{-1/2}(x-2)^{\frac{-1}{2}}(x-2+x+1)[/tex]

This is the step that I am not understanding, it's simple algebra but I am still not quite getting it :( Can someone help?

Then the last step is

=[tex] \frac{2x-1}{2(x+1)^{1/2}(x-2)^{1/2}}[/tex] Which I somewhat understand, but not really.
    \

PS - For the third step I am getting

=[tex](x-2)^{1/2}(\frac{1}{2})(x+1)^{-1/2}+(\frac{1}{2})(x+1)^{1/2}(x-2)^{-1/2} [/tex]

Last edited: Sep 13, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 13, 2006 #2
    For the third part, you're multiplying and dividing by [tex](x+1)^{-1/2}(x-2)^{\frac{-1}{2}}[/tex]. Try it. The fourth step is just writing the previous expression in a neat way (Remember, [tex]x^{-n} = \frac{1}{x^n}[/tex]).

Btw, is it 3 or 2 that's in the first term? ;)

4. Sep 13, 2006 #3
    Fixed :). Now I gotta sit and think for a bit.

5. Sep 13, 2006 #4
    Aha! Finally I get it, simply set them up as 1/whatever^(1/2) then cross multiply to add :P Don't know why it didn't sink in immediately after I read your post but sometimes math is like that I guess. Thankyou Neutrino.