Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need resources for ER diagram and SQL

1. Oct 14, 2016 #1
    I have a gut feeling that I will retake a test about these subjects.

Do you know good resources about creating ER diagram and relational model for database (sql database primarily)

Sometimes even creating a correct ER Diagram (chen notation) feels difficult and confusing. These type of homework problems have been things like word problems where we must construvt the ER diagram from a short written description.

For relational model... I think I can create relational model when I have the correctly defined ER diagram from which to begin work...

I think I could also use some resources for SQL queries but I do know already some basic queries. I studied some basic queries at w3school and I took the quiz about SQL but still I dont really have good enough understanding for a test at our school.

But I dont quite fully understand the logic begind the queries. Especially
    Left join, right join, aliases, inner join,

And the logic begind the where operator in SQL queries is a little bit fuzzy to me. Especially if you somehow combine multiple tables in a query. How are you supposed to know which fields(?) Are equal to which fields in lets say two tables...?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 16, 2016 #2
    This is about WHERE syntax, right?

For example, when you have 2 tables and you run this query:
    Code (Text):
    SELECT * FROM TABLE1, TABLE2
    you'll get the output rows, which each made of every row in TABLE1 paired with every row in TABLE2.

So when you run another query like this:
    Code (Text):
    SELECT * FROM TABLE1, TABLE2
    WHERE COLUMN_A = COLUMN_B
    basically it'll give you the same result as previous query, except that it checks that in every row, the paired ones have two column values that are equal.