New Adjunct Math Professor at Community College

1. Hello,

I am going to be a new adjunct math professor this semester at a community college, and I'm teaching precalculus (that's my only class). I am very new to teaching (I've never actually taught a class before although I've tutored in the past). I was just hoping to get some advice from teachers/professors on...what should I look out for, and what should I be aware of, as I begin this endeavor. I am incredibly excited because I've been wanting to do this for a long time, but very worried because I feel like I'm being "thrown to the wolves" so to speak, with no formal training in teaching.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. turbo

turbo 7,366
    Gold Member

First off, know your subject matter (and your text) inside and out. Always try to think of alternative ways to explain concepts to students. Simply repeating what's in the text and working out problems at the 'board isn't going to be helpful to students who are having trouble with comprehension. If you are able to roll with questions from your students, and help them out, they will become comfortable with your teaching style. That will take a lot of the heat off you in the classroom.

This approach requires considerable prep on your part, at least for your first run through the precalc course material, but it will leave you more comfortable and relaxed in the classroom, and that is a BIG deal. When you find an example or problem that seems to click well with your students, make note of it in your text or other materials, so you can use it again when needed.

I taught adult learners in industrial settings, and quite often those students were nervous about being thrown back into a "classroom" setting to learn about equipment/processes that they had learned about (sometimes a long time ago) through hap-hazard training and/or peer-directed on-the-job training. Good luck.

4. Andy Resnick

Andy Resnick 5,785
    Science Advisor