Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

New to PCB - Help?

1. Jul 26, 2010 #1
    Hey All,

I am glad to be a part of this Forum. I am brand new to PCB design and I am working on a project related to PCB designing and manufacturing. At present we have free software's available which helps in PCB designing. Can anyone suggest me which is the best software available for designing PCBs. Information on this would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 26, 2010 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Eagle is a popular introductory package. What software are you using for the schematic capture? It's best if the PCB layout software is coupled with the [STRIKE]PCB layout[/STRIKE] schematic capture software. Is the circuit digital, analog, or mixed-signal?

Last edited: Jul 26, 2010
  4. Jul 26, 2010 #3
    My preference:
    Pads PCB & Power Logic where cost is not a major consideration.
    DipTrace where cost is a major consideration. (DipTrace is also easier to use than Pads for simpler PCB's)

5. Jul 26, 2010 #4
    Eagle's GUI nearly drove me to suicide. However it is the only free, full-service program that I could find. Even though it costs a bit more to produce and has other limitations, for small boards and proto-type quantities I skurried back to http://www.expresspcb.com/ with my tail between my legs. Their free software is blindingly simple (in comparison to Eagle), but it has no auto-routing (which I found useless in Eagle anyway, but didn't really try to use) and ties you into using their production facility and prices.

6. Jul 26, 2010 #5

berkeman

Yeah, I guess I should have qualified my post by saying that I only used Eagle to view a schematic that I was working with (from another designer outside my company). I haven't used their tools, but could believe that they are hard to work with.

7. Jul 26, 2010 #6