Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Next step C coding for electrical engineer Stuff

1. May 12, 2016 #1
    hi,
    I'm an electrical engineering student and have studied c programming. Everything I was doing however was just to familiarize myself with c and the language, therefore just executable programs that could create a database, or make an array or data to programs that aided me like a resistor color band program or math performing applications. you know, new guy stuff.

I know the next step in my education is learning microcontrollers and eventually a pic controller or similar based platform. I want to get a head start on programming for hardware. I've been playing with arduino for a few year and have coded small projects (not easily at all) and I can understand most code I've used for larger scale projects. However I know I could not have processed the code myself.

Where can I find specific information/tutorials on coding for hardware?

I know obviously practicing is the way to learn but I just don't know where to look to get the basics.

in elec engineering is c++ used ? Would a better idea be to start learning c++?

any books, webpages, videos. Etc much appreciated...

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. May 12, 2016 #2
    I would definitely start to learn about programmable logic devices if I were you.