Not sure where else to ask this -- Can I teach myself Diff Eqs?

• Thread starter Adsit_Deus
  • Start date
In summary, it is possible to self-teach a class of that level. It depends on the prerequisites and level of expertise of the student. If the student is strong in the prerequisites, they should not have too much trouble. If the student finds their prerequisites lacking, they may need help to catch up.
Adsit_Deus
So I'm not sure if this is the appropriate section, so mods, please move this as you see fit.

I am a sophomore biochemistry major looking to go to graduate school for biochemistry or evolutionary biology (decision should be made by next semester after I take biochem formally). Unfortunately, I don't have any time in my schedule to take but one more math class -- either Calculus III or Math Stats I (maybe Math Stats II if I move some things around). I am really beginning to find math interesting after being in Calculus II for a semester, and am interested in continuing my studies in it as much as I can, through Diff Eq.

So my question is: Is it possible to one to self-teach a class of that level? I'm by no means stellar at math, but that is how I learn most concepts anyway -- self study. I would like to study it 1) because my roommate (actuarial science major) has repeatedly told me and shown me how fun it is) and 2) because I feel like it could be useful in designing models during some of my graduate work (I see a lot of specialized models used in EEB, especially first order diff eqs).

If it helps, I'm currently making a 92% in Calc II -- I'm FAR better at pure math than I am applied math, but I am more than capable of doing both.

Physics news on Phys.org