Nuclear Engineering or Medical Physics?

In summary, the conversation revolves around a Nuclear engineering student in the US who is trying to choose between the radiation health side and the energy side for their research. They are specifically interested in reactor designs that eliminate waste and the potential salary for a PhD in nuclear engineering. They also bring up the question of the future of medicine physics, particularly in terms of radiation therapy and the potential for alternative treatments that are less damaging to healthy cells. However, it is suggested that nuclear medicine is not going away anytime soon due to its effectiveness and cost-effectiveness in treating cancer, as well as ongoing research and development to improve its efficacy.
Cornstar
I'm currently a Nuclear engineering student in the US. I'm at the point where I need to begin doing research and am torn between the radiation health side of things and the energy side. I honestly love both so I came here to ask a few questions to help determine my research choice. Also I know there's the possibility to go either way in grad school but I believe doing research now in the more related field would be beneficial to which ever I choose.

1) From the energy side I'm interested in reactor designs that eliminate the waste issue or greatly reduce it. One thing I'm ignorant about is the salary of someone with a PhD in nuclear engineering. I understand it can range vastly but I'd take comfort in knowing that if I pursue this path I'll be able to pay off student loans and live quite comfortably.