Nuclear Engineering Vs Plasma Physics

In summary, the conversation discusses the interest in fusion energy and the confusion between choosing a graduate program in plasma physics or nuclear engineering for pursuing research in this field. The speaker also mentions various universities that offer courses and research opportunities in nuclear engineering and technology, with a focus on fusion. Finally, they ask for tips on studying fusion and receive a response with suggestions for schools to consider for fusion research.
FrancisClinton
I am an electrical engineering student doing my third year. I am interested in doing research in making fusion energy a commercial energy source by doing research in current techniques and also interested in creating new techniques for making fusion process continuous and efficient than current techniques. For this whether doing graduate program in plasma physics or nuclear engineering will be helpful for me.

Physics news on Phys.org
Depends on what schools you're looking at. For example UWM, does research on fusion and they have a graduate nuclear engineering program that is based on fusion devices, meanwhile somewhere like NCSU has more research in fission reactor design and they have a lot of industry ties with companies like Westinghouse and GE.

Likes 1 person
Thanks caldweab, but most nuclear engineering programs is concerned with both design of reactors and some amount of fusion research but the plasma physics program is concentrated only on the fusion research and not on design of reactors so i am confused to choose the correct one among the two programs.

Last edited:
FrancisClinton said:
Thanks caldweab, but most nuclear engineering programs is concerned with both design of reactors and some amount of fusion research but the plasma physics program is concentrated only on the fusion research and not on design of reactors so i am confused to choose the correct one among the two programs.