Operational Amplifiers - Saturation

In summary, the maximum magnitude of the output voltage VS is dependent on the op-amp's specifications and how it defines its output voltage. It is best to consult the datasheet and specifications for a specific answer.
PFuser1232
I am an A level physics student. I have a doubt regarding the saturation of op-amps. For a circuit with a dual power supply, each supply has an emf VS. My doubt is, why is the MAXIMUM magnitude of the output voltage VS? Shouldn't it be VS - (- VS) = 2VS? (Since the potential difference is the difference in potential between the two terminals).

Physics news on Phys.org
MohammedRady97 said:
I am an A level physics student. I have a doubt regarding the saturation of op-amps. For a circuit with a dual power supply, each supply has an emf VS. My doubt is, why is the MAXIMUM magnitude of the output voltage VS? Shouldn't it be VS - (- VS) = 2VS? (Since the potential difference is the difference in potential between the two terminals).

Please post a link to the datasheet and give us a pointer to the specification that you have the doubt about. That is the most efficient way to get your question answered. :smile:

As Berkeman suggests, it entirely depends on how the output voltage is defined for that specific op amp.

What is saturation in operational amplifiers?

Saturation in operational amplifiers refers to the maximum or minimum voltage levels that the output of the amplifier can reach. When an operational amplifier is saturated, it means that the output voltage has reached its maximum or minimum value and cannot go any higher or lower, regardless of the input signal.

What causes an operational amplifier to enter saturation?