Particular material that becomes strained under electrostatic

In summary, the conversation is about the search for a material that can be strained under electrostatic or magnetic fields and the interest in studying the electrostriction effect. The person has looked into piezoelectric materials but is specifically looking for a non-crystalline organic polymer. The suggestion of PVDF is made as it is a piezoelectric polymer. However, the person has not found one yet.
sol66
I am currently looking for a particular material that becomes strained under electrostatic or magnetic fields. I am new to the world of solid state physics and I was interested on doing a research project on the studies of the electrostriction effect.

Thank You

Physics news on Phys.org

sol66 said:
I am currently looking for a particular material that becomes strained under electrostatic or magnetic fields. I am new to the world of solid state physics and I was interested on doing a research project on the studies of the electrostriction effect.

Thank You

Have you looked into piezoelectric material?

Zz.

Yes I have, I'm sorry if I wasn't specific. I was looking for a material that was not a crystal like structure, but more of an organic polymer.

I also realized, that none crystal like structures are not under the branch of solid state physics. To be extremely specific I'm looking for a polymer that can be looped, and when an electrostatic field is passed through it, the loop will shrink. Sorry if I'm being dumb, thanks for the replies.

sol66 said:
Yes I have, I'm sorry if I wasn't specific. I was looking for a material that was not a crystal like structure, but more of an organic polymer.

Try PVDF. It's a piezoelectric polymer (polyvinylidene fluoride). And organic, I suppose.

Sorry, i haven't found one yet... :-)

http://happycalmfocused.com/resources/bsr-review.php"

Last edited by a moderator:

1. What is electrostatic strain?