1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Pendulum equation/expression, manipulation Help

Tags:
  1. Sep 17, 2016 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Converting the simple pendulum expression for g in terms of the angular frequency ω instead of the period T, where ω=2π/T, yields g=ω2L.
    Derive an expression for the error (Δg) in g by first setting g=A⋅B.
    A=
    B=
    Therefore in terms of A, ΔA, B, and ΔB:
    Δg/g=

Converting back to the original variables ω and L:
    ΔA/A=
    ΔB/B

Thus, an expression for the error Δg in g is:
    Δg=

2. Relevant equations
    The simple pendulum expression I have is T = 2pi √(L/g)

3. The attempt at a solution
    I am in my first year physics class. Already on the first week the professor requires questions like this to be completed prior to my lab. The problem is... we havent learned ANYTHING yet in class that is relevant to this question. I am not sure where to even begin, I am having difficulty comprehending and picturing what the question is asking. It would be great if anyone can provide any insight or lead me in the correct path

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 17, 2016 #2

DrClaude

Staff: Mentor

Have a look at http://www.rit.edu/~w-uphysi/uncertainties/Uncertaintiespart2.html [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2017
  4. Sep 17, 2016 #3
    So in the first part.. would A= w^2 and B = L ...?

Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2017
  5. Sep 17, 2016 #4

haruspex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Yes.

6. Sep 17, 2016 #5
    Thank you and would be or is that total wrong lol
    Δg/g= ((dA/A)^2))+((dB/B)^2))

7. Sep 17, 2016 #6

haruspex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

No.