1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Pendulum problem using Lagrangian

1. Feb 18, 2016 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I am studying a question in Marion's classical mechanics:
    Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 10.44.12 PM.png
    I am successful in obtain the equation of motion, which is Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 10.46.42 PM.png where theta is the theta shown in Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 10.47.38 PM.png . However, in the second part of the solution, Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 10.48.21 PM.png , it puts derivative of theta to be zero and I can't understand this. Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 10.43.57 PM.png Also, the solution concludes theta=pi/2 is the solution. It is very confusing.
    2. Relevant equations
    3. attempt
    In my mind, I can image that derivative of theta is zero at equilibrium as the mass stops moving but i don't know why such criteria is still valid when expanding around a certain angle. pi/2 is the equilibrium angle which I can derive by finding minimum of the potential energy but the result does't seem to be related to the "half-angle" asked.

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 18, 2016 #2

TSny

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I believe I follow the solution, but I'm not clear on what you are asking. You mention "derivative of theta is zero", but I don't see anywhere in the solution where there is any mention of the derivative of theta being zero. So, I'm not sure what you are referring to here.