1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

PhD physics, job seeking advice to Schoredinger's cat. thank you!

1. Nov 12, 2014 #1
    Hello, I'm Schoeredinger's cat. After escaping that box, I went looking for a job elsewhere (can you blame me?).

I have a PhD in physics from Cambridge (impressive for a cat, no?), where I deposited and studied magnetic metals and semiconductors thin films. I got a couple of postdocs that led to nothing much (distracted by fish).

I immigrated to US and sent applications to any industry I could find in my field (like Intel). The most I got were automated denials.

I applied to teach to community college, I only got some interview.

I applied to supermarkets and worked at Fry's (electronics retail) for 2 weeks pushing carts part time in the parking lot.

I got an office job.

I learnt some python and applied to the big data school but wasn't accepted.

Do you have any advice how can I look for an industry (or similar) job? I can't apply yet to positions that require citizenship, but honestly I'm not sure I'd get a chance there seeing my unemployed stretches of time in my resume and recent lack of technical job practice.

Once I applied to a job in a bar, and I was told the coffee machine was difficult to learn. I said I have a PhD in physics I'm sure I can learn. They said "you'd be surprised" and didn't hire me.

I am suspicious that being a cat is frowned upon when hiring.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 12, 2014 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF.

I Googled "Schoeredinger's cat" and got zero hits. Maybe your PhD is not in Physics? :)

EDIT -- Which Fry's Electronics location? Sounds like we both are currently living in Silicon Valley.

4. Nov 13, 2014 #3
    thanks!

try this http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Schoeredinger's cat