Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physicist that is also Eagle Scout

1. Mar 12, 2016 #1
    I'm looking for some physicists that are also Eagle Scouts. My son recently earned his award and I would like to get some letters of recognition. This is what he plans to study in college- he made this decision in middle school and has been working towards his goal ever since.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 12, 2016 #2
    Sounds like a great kid, but why would any random physicists endorse your son who they don't know?

4. Mar 12, 2016 #3
    It's pretty much tradition for former Eagle scouts to write letters of congratulations for youth that have achieved this rank. Only 2% of scouts obtain this honor. Letters come from the President, congressmen, even Mike Rowe. And my son who may think those are nice would be more impressed by a Physicist than any of them.
    I'm an engineer and I could get several but according to him, engineers just dont make the cut :-)

5. Mar 12, 2016 #4

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Oh, letters of congratulation/recognition for obtaining Eagle Scout - not endorsements for college acceptance. The last sentence threw me too.

I'm an Eagle Scout, but, sorry, I'm a mechanical engineer.

can you tell us a bit more about him? What did he do for his service project?

6. Mar 12, 2016 #5