1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Physics Graduate School Without Physics Courses

1. Nov 25, 2011 #1
    Long story short, I am currently a junior mathematics major, and I plan on going to graduate school for physics. My college offers but two, non-calculus based physics courses covering classical mechanics, electricity and magnetism.

Correct me if I'm wrong (please!), but I believe that if I do well on the GRE and GRE Physics subject test, I will be able to get into a fairly decent graduate program (top tier would be nice) without having majored in physics.

I believe that if I studied independently, a few hours every day, that I will have a fairly decent grasp on the material before I take the exam(s).

In essence, my question is this: What books/sources do you recommend I use?

Below is a direct quote from ETS about the subjects covered in the GRE physics test. I would like, at the very least, to know these materials thoroughly, but am very open to any additional materials you should recommend.

Thank you!
    Alex

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 25, 2011 #2

Pengwuino

Gold Member

After those 2 classes, you'd be lucky if you were able to answer a single question on the Physics GRE unless studying "a few hours a day" is followed by "for about 2-4 years".

No graduate school is going to accept you if you've never taken a real physics course, have a near 0% Physics GRE score (which you will), no letters of recommendation from physics instructors (which you probably wouldn't be able to get), and no physics research experience.

4. Nov 25, 2011 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

I suggest you read this recent thread which was started by someone who wants to do something similar, skipping an undergraduate degree completely: