1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Major Looking for Advice on Computer Engineering Grad School

1. Oct 13, 2007 #1
    I'm a sophomore at a small school (1600 students) in North Carolina, and I'm majoring in Physics. I'm also double minoring in Computer Science and Math.

I'm doing this with the intention to graduate in four years and attend graduate school to work towards a Masters Degree in Computer Engineering.

I'll have 20+ hours of Computer Science, 20+ hours of Math including Differential Equations, Linear Algebra, three semesters of Calculus, and a class to be decided later.

What advice can you guys give me on course selection? Should I try to take Physics E&M classes where I have options instead of Optics, Mechanics, etc?

I'm just trying to get things figured out before my senior year rolls around.
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 14, 2007 #2
    I had a question,

The maths you just said are all the standard maths any physics major should take, as well as any engineer, or computer science major, don't they make you take any more than that?

Also as a physics major wouldn't you have to take physics E&M, Mechanics, Quantum physic, etc? Or are they giving you the choice?

I was a computer engineering major, now I'm a computer science and the highest physics we took were:
    Mechanics, E&M, and quantum waves/particals.

If you want to get a master degree's in computer engineering why don't you just major in computer engineering then go to grad school for computer engineering?

The major disadvantage I see here is your not taking any EE courses, a big part of a computer engineering degree is Electrical Engineering.