1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics or Mathematics?

1. Jan 23, 2005 #1
    I'm currently studying physics in an undegraduate program. It's fascinating and all, but my real interest lies in mathematics. My goal is to get a master's and eventually a PhD in math, but, in the words of my professor, "you will need to go pretty far before you can make a contribution to math."

My question is, "how far?" I don't want to spend 10 years getting my PhD. Maybe I should stick with physics or switch to something more applied, like computer science, as a master's?
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 23, 2005 #2
    The most important thing is to pick something you enjoy doing. Start with a master's doing something you like. Go to conferences, talk to professors, and read about various fields to see what turns you on the most. Think of a Ph.D. only when you have a good grasp of what research actually is.
  4. Jan 23, 2005 #3

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Same here.

I was going for Physics and Mathematics, but I believe I will be doing just a Pure Math degree.

I don't care about making contributions. I do what I want.
  5. Jan 23, 2005 #4
    I Agree with Gonzolo and JasonRox. If you like math more, than do math. If you like physics more, than do physics. For me, I hate physics, but I'm good at it. I love math, but i suck at it. So in the end, I'm choosing biology.
  6. Jan 24, 2005 #5
    What's that supposed to mean?

Does that mean that you don't need to go very far before you can make a contribution to physics? :rofl:
  7. Jan 24, 2005 #6

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

^^You know, it certainly seems that way to me.
  8. Jan 24, 2005 #7
    Well, we didn't get physics involved in that conversation, heh heh.
  9. Jan 24, 2005 #8